Best DUI Lawyer Virginia Contact the Johnson Law Firm at 703.997.4800 or visit our new site http://ineedaduiattorney.com/contact-us/ to talk to a DUI litigator that knows how to win big cases in Virginia.
Virginia categorizes a first DUI transgression as a type 1 misdemeanor and enforces a fine ranginging from $250 to $2,500. The law also imposes an one-year license suspension. The consequence increases if you were arrested with a BAC of 0.15 % or greater in which case your sentence may include a minimum five-day jail sentence.
DUI Penalties in Virginia More Information Here
A first offense DUI in Virginia results in administrative license suspension of one year. Reinstatement of a license requires completion of an alcohol safety and education program. If the driver was arrested with a BAC at or upwards of.15, the operator has to apply an ignition interlock device upon reinstatement of his or her drivers license.
How Much Will it really Cost? To get an idea of how much a primary offense DUI will cost you, see our post on the cost of a DUI. Virginia DUI Criminal Penalties
Some states refer to it as Driving Under the Influence (DUI), others refer to it as Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) and a modest group of states referred to it as Operating Under the Influence (OUI). (We usually refer to it as “DUI” at this website.) This criminal offense usually includes either driving under the influence of alcoholic beverages to the extent it impairs your bodily as well as cognitive faculties, or operating a vehicle while you possess a blood alcohol content of.08 or greater no matter whether the alcohol has had any sort of effect on you. The offense is also incorrectly known as ” drunk driving” although that term has no formal meaning and is a misnomer because you do not have to be plastered (or operating a vehicle) for you to be apprehended and convicted of a DUI.
First offense convictions carry no mandatory minimum period of incarceration for offenders, except if the offender had a minor passenger in the vehicle (mandatory incarceration of five days), if the driver had a BAC in excess of.15 (mandatory minimum incarceration of five days), or the driver had a BAC in excess of.20 (mandatory minimum incarceration of ten days).
The penalty is $250, but if there was a minor passenger there, minimum penalties increase by at least $500, but to not more than $2,500. Penalties do not incorporate expenses acquired related to completion of terms of the verdict or applicable restitution mandated by the courts.
Convictions may be applied in deciding on the nature of second or future DUI offenses for a time frame of One Decade.
Services Absolutely no statutory language in the state of Virginia restricts pleading down DUI charges into lesser criminal offenses or even traffic violations. The ability to do so, however, is truly contingent upon the use of legal counsel and the case-specific nature of each DUI arrest. Pending case-specific factors, dismissal of charges may also be possible.
If you are jailed for DUI, then working with a Affordable DUI Attorney proves to be the best choice. Driving under the influence can have serious repercussions on you if you are involved in an automobile accident. You may face consequences like prison or jail, penalties or fines, vehicle impoundment, etc. The DWI Attorneys is familiar with the complexities and treatments involved with DUI charges and are your best bet if you end up in such a situation.
Take a moment and please subscribe to our YouTube channel right here: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjxcvi5cLE5KhnZYlXyK6ng
Johnson Law Firm 13478 Minnieville Rd #204
Woodbridge Virginia 22192